• Traveling the world and sharing their stories.

     

    Australian and an American traveling the world and sharing their stories.

     

    Traveling the world and sharing their stories.

    How travel can make or break a relationship.

    In January 2015 we met by chance. Since that day we traveled to over ten countries as well as moved to Vancouver, Canada. This is the story of how we first met and how travel can make your relationship stronger.

    First Sight.

    We met in Cambodia, one of those things where you look at each other and you just instantly feel like you’ve known the other for years. I had traveled all day on the bus from Bangkok to Siem Reap and was absolutely exhausted from the chaos of the border crossing. One of the guys in my room invited me out and although I was tired, so I said sure why not. I was down at the hostel bar area with some of the group and Chantell comes down and we meet each other. We start talking a bit before dinner while waiting for the rest of the group and instantly connect.

    When we arrived at the restaurant for dinner, I ended up sitting across from her because another person sat in the chair next to her. Well, during dinner she was really quiet, but I found out later she was quiet because she was throwing a silent tantrum because I didn’t sit next to her. After dinner, the group went to this bar that has a skateboard vert pipe on the roof of it (like 4-5 stories up). We all climb up on top of the pipe and Chantell and I ended up talking between just the two of us while everyone else was doing their own thing.

    Next we went to a club (which I never dance) and stayed there for hours (I actually danced). She and I didn’t even get back to our hostel rooms until 6 in the morning that first night. It ended up being that way the next few days where we would just stay out all night with each other and go through the day on little sleep.

    Tip #1: If you’re exhausted but are offered a chance to have an enjoyable dinner and meet new people, suck it up and go out. You never know what’s waiting around the corner.

    Traveling the world and sharing their stories.

    Siem Reap, Cambodia.

    I knew that Chantell was leaving to go to Phnom Penh soon and was pleasantly surprised that she decided to stay a few more days in Siem Reap. Siem Reap was my last stop before heading back to the U.S.A., but I knew there was something special about her. I ended up suggesting that I change my plans to go back home so that we could travel together for the rest of her scheduled trip. She was ecstatic with the idea so I instantly got ahold of my flight company and changed my bookings without a second thought. Looking back that could have been a bad decision if we didn’t mesh so well, but at the time, neither of us had that idea cross our minds.

    Tip #2: If there’s a unique connection and you have the opportunity and/or want to see what could potentially happen, take a chance.

    Travel relationship obstacles.

    During our first bit of travel together, we quickly got adjusted to each other and would be very accommodating to the others ideas and wants. Luckily, we both have traveled enough where we tend to be very easy going and know that we will get there when we get there. Of course this doesn’t mean that every single step is a walk in the park.

    Traveling the world and sharing their stories.

    Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, QLD, Australia.

    Being vocal about likes and dislikes, top priorities on places to visit, and preferred means of transportation are a must when traveling as a couple. For instance, I am the kind of guy who is perfectly fine with staying in a place that is the cheapest option (as I can sleep anywhere), using only public transit or walking instead of taxis, and sticking with cheap street food, saving money for more experiences or being able to extend my travels. Many people would balk at some of the things I mentioned, which is why it is extremely important to understand the needs and ideas held by your partner.

    Tip #3: Keep an open line of communication.

    Making it work.

    When we went our separate ways in Singapore, we knew that we didn’t want “us” to end. We decided we would attempt the evil long distance relationship even though we both previously said before meeting that we would never do something like that. We were apart for over 2 months when I made the trek to Australia. After staying in Australia and traveling together to New Zealand, I returned to the U.S. but was soon with her once again, this time in Texas.

    Since then, we’ve gone multiple periods of time without the other, and it never gets easier. However, our relationship has grown stronger because of it. The old adage, “absence makes the heart grow fonder” rings true throughout every step of our relationship. Is it tough? Of course! Then again, what relationship isn’t.

    At the end of the day it all comes down to the commitment to making it work. No matter distance, love or need of travel, or the obstacles that come with traveling when together, facing it all as one team is essential.

    http://adoration4adventure.com/travel-relationship/ 

     


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :