• Why I left Facebook.

     

    Why I left Facebook.

    Since 2011, I’ve enjoyed the exchange between followers and their comments and questions for me. My Facebook page was our little community. We didn’t always agree on everything, but it was an additional way to meet and have discussions about many topics. Earlier this year, there was a noticeable shift in the atmosphere, and it continued to decline until Facebook started to feel a little like wandering down a menacing alley after midnight.

    Facebook includes an Inbox Message feature for page administrators that I was not able to turn off. I was banning up to thirty men a day who wanted to “meet an older woman.” All of these accounts are fake, but it takes time to go through the process of banning them from the page and reporting the fake account to Facebook. When I discovered that I had banned or blocked hundreds of people from my page, it made me realize what a time-waster it has become. I could have ignored the Inbox, but many women wrote to me there with specific questions that they did not want to make public, so I had to click on every notice and read it to find out if I needed to respond to a legitimate follower.

    Why I left Facebook.

    Sinister people have found the perfect outlet for their unrestrained shenanigans through Facebook. I monitored the comments and deleted many because they served no purpose above stirring up confrontation or ill will. Those same types of men, I mentioned above tried to engage in dialog with women who commented on my posts. Those accounts also had to be banned, blocked, deleted and reported. I have learned to cope with personal criticism, but when it started to include bitter exchanges between followers, I decided enough is enough.

    I will continue to share fashion and style tips, photos of trips, food inspiration, and encouragement here without anyone trying to turn it into a political debate or a personal attack. Those comments will be blocked before they ever see the light of day. I prefer to use this space and my energy to create informative, uplifting content that I hope you will find helpful.

    https://susanafter60.com/why-i-left-facebook/ 


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :